horngems midtown concerts logo           Donate button

Missed this concert? View it here.

Italian and French Medieval Keyboard Music. 

Satono NorizukiThe instrument presented in this concert is the clavisimbalum, a medieval ancestor of the harpsichord in the fifteenth century. The program features the earliest surviving keyboard works of liturgical and secular music from the Codex Faenza 117 and the Robertsbridge Codex.

Satono Norizuki, clavisimbalum

Satono Norizuki, harpsichordist, has performed frequently as a soloist in North America and her native country Japan. She has also been a continuo player with numerous baroque orchestras and ensembles. As an educator, Satono has been invited to give historical keyboard lecture recitals at academic institutions, and has also hosted early music concert series in Westchester, New York and Japan. In order to raise public awareness of the historical keyboard instruments and sounds, Satono regularly appears on live radio shows to introduce early music. As a composer, her first composition, titled “Flavor of D,” a harpsichord solo piece, was selected for an honorable mention in the Ninth Aliénor International Composition Competition. Satono received a Doctor of Musical Arts degree in harpsichord performance from the State University of New York at Stony Brook, where she studied with Arthur Haas. She also received Bachelor and Master of Music degrees in harpsichord performance from the Music Conservatory at Chicago College of Performing Arts, Roosevelt University, where she studied with David Schrader. Satono has been serving as artistic director at Twelve-Note Music, a music management office in White Plains, New York since 2013.

Visit www.satononorizuki.com

1:15 - 2:00 pm

Livestream from the Midtown Concerts Facebook page

You do not need a Facebook account to view the livestream.

Scroll down to the livestream video at 1:15pm on Thursday, June 11.

Download the full program


Codex Faenza 117 (c.1420)

   Kyrie – Kyrie (II) — anonymous
   Ave maris stella — anonymous

   Aquila altera — after Jacopo da Bologna
   Io me son uno — after Jacopo da Bologna

   Che pena questa — Francesco Landini (c.1325-1397) / anonymous
   Constantia — anonymous
   Elas mon cuor — anonymous

Robertsbridge Codex (14th century)

   Petrone — anonymous

Midtown Concerts sponsors lunchtime performances of music of the 18th century and earlier. Ensembles are chosen by a panel of early music specialists from the metropolitan area.

Time: Thursdays, 1:15–2:00 pm
All concerts are free; no tickets or reservations are necessary.

Concerts are in person at St. Malachy's Church, 239 West 49th Street, Manhattan, AND live streamed.