horngems midtown concerts logo           Donate button

Solo Bach Cantatas for Lent.

Watch online here or on YouTube 

Filigree_Christina_Kim_credit_Gentle_Grace_PhotographyMargaret Carpenter Haigh ~ soprano
Brian Mummert ~ baritone
Caroline Giassi ~ oboe
Jude Ziliak ~ violin
Rafa Prendergast ~ violin
Daniel McCarthy ~ viola
Oliver Weston ~ cello
Nathaniel Chase ~ bass
Nicholas Haigh ~ continuo organ

Baritone and Gentleman of the Choir at St Thomas Fifth Avenue Brian Mummert will perform Bach's Cantata 82, Ich habe genug, in collaboration with oboist Caroline Giassi. The program is completed with Bach’s Cantata 199, Mein herze schwimmt in Blut, with soprano Margaret Carpenter Haigh.

Brian Mummert sings, conducts, arranges, and composes music spanning eras and genres, all in the service of harnessing musical narrative as a mode for deepening mutual understanding. He is the founding artistic director of The New Consort, an American Prize-winning vocal ensemble dedicated to exploring the roles musical ritual and community play in our lives; a co-founder of ChamberQUEER, a chamber music collective highlighting the voices of LGBTQ+ composers and performers; and co-founder of The Red Ribbon Revue, a World AIDS Day concert featuring HIV+ performers celebrating the legacy of artists lost to AIDS. brianmummert.com

Praised as “fiery, wild, and dangerous” (Classical Voice North Carolina) with “a talent for character portrayal” (Chicago Classical Review), soprano Margaret Carpenter Haigh captivates audiences with her “flawless intonation” and “perfect vocalism” (Classical Voice North Carolina). She is in demand as a specialist interpreter of early music throughout North America and has been featured with ensembles including the Memphis, Winston-Salem, and Portland Symphonies; Messiah Festival of the Arts; Bach Akademie Charlotte; Arizona MusicFest; Apollo’s Fire; Evansville Philharmonic; and her own ensemble L’Académie du Roi Soleil. Margaret resides in New York City where she is a member of the Choir of Trinity Wall Street. margaretcarpenterhaigh.com

1:15–2:00 pm
All concerts are free; no tickets or reservations are necessary.

In person at St. Malachy's Church, 239 West 49th Street, Manhattan

Live stream details: You can watch it on your computer in any of two places by clicking on the name you wish: our website or YouTube.

Midtown Concerts sponsors lunchtime performances of music of the 18th century and earlier. Ensembles are chosen by a panel of early music specialists from the metropolitan area.

Time: Thursdays, 1:15–2:00 pm
All concerts are free; no tickets or reservations are necessary.

Concerts are in person at St. Malachy's Church, 239 West 49th Street, Manhattan, AND live streamed.