horngems midtown concerts logo

Beethoven's Brio.

Roberts Yang WhearBeethoven’s first official publication, the Trios, Op. 1, set a new standard for the genre and were his most effective calling cards announcing to Vienna: "I have arrived." The Trio in C Minor is particularly forward looking, building on the traditions of Mozart and reaching into the new century in anticipation of romantic trends. By contrast, Beethoven's "Spring Sonata" is one of his most lyrical and accessible works, an intimate dialogue in a pastoral mood.

Cynthia Roberts, violin
Allen Whear, cello
Yi-heng Yang, fortepiano

Cynthia Roberts, Allen Whear, and Yi-heng Yang join together to perform the rich Viennese classical literature for fortepiano and strings, including Haydn, Mozart, Beethoven, and Hummel. Cynthia Roberts is one of America’s leading baroque violinists, appearing as soloist, concertmaster, and recitalist throughout the US, Europe, and Asia. Fortepianist Yi-heng Yang has been noted for her "astonishing skill and vividness" (The New York Times). Cellist Allen Whear, a member of Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra, has been praised by the Philadelphia Inquirer as an "exciting performer."


1:15 – 2:00 pm
All concerts are free; no tickets or reservations are necessary.

This concert will be live streamed on our website, and on YouTube and Facebook, followed by an intimate chat on Zoom.

Zoom link: https://zoom.us/j/94474265453
Meeting ID: 944 7426 5453

Midtown Concerts sponsors lunchtime performances of music of the 18th century and earlier. Ensembles are chosen by a panel of early music specialists from the metropolitan area.

Time: Thursdays, 1:15 – 2:00 pm
All concerts are free; no tickets or reservations are necessary.

Concerts are currently live streamed, followed by an intimate chat on Zoom.